Research Study: Siblings of Individuals with Type 1 Diabetes--Please read and pass to your siblings!

My name is Julie E. Balzano and I am a fifth year doctoral student in the Counseling Psychology program at Fordham University.  I am writing to ask for help in recruiting participants for my doctoral dissertation research examining the sibling relationship, empathy, and interpersonal problems among adult siblings of individuals with Type I diabetes.

I was wondering if individuals would be willing to help distribute an email about my study, post it to a blog you might have, or distribute my study flyer at any support group meetings or events you might have.  And, of course, if you have sibling(s) and Type 1 it would be great if you could pass this information to your sibling(s).  Study participants are the non-diagnosed adult siblings of individuals with Type 1, but the best way to get in touch with these individuals has been through their diabetic siblings.  

Study participation occurs electronically, takes 20-25 minutes, and is anonymous.  I have pasted study information below.  Information can also be found at: http://siblingresearchstudy.blogspot.com/ 

Sincerely,

Julie E. Balzano, M.S.Ed.

***************************************************************************************************************************************************************

My name is Julie E. Balzano and I am a fifth year doctoral student in the Counseling Psychology program at Fordham University.  I am writing to ask for help in recruiting participants for my doctoral dissertation research examining the sibling relationship, empathy, and interpersonal problems among adult siblings of individuals with Type I diabetes.

Participants must have sibling(s) who are EITHER medically healthy OR who have a diagnosis of Type I diabetes.  Additional participation criteria include:   

• Must be 18 years of age or older. 

• Must have grown up in the same household with sibling(s).