Question re t1 and sickness

So— I get slightly frustrated when I constantly hear “we’ll even though you’re younger than me, your diabetic so you’re certainly more at risk to develop more complications” when discussing viruses sicknesses etc. this is coming from the lovely Coronavirus that is now going on and a conversation I had with someone. Can I ask why people say this? I understand I’m diabetic but I’m well controlled and otherwise fine. Insight appreciated. Thanks as always and I hope everyone is safe and healthy.

@Mlp1124 hi Michelle, my favorite doctor explains it like this: if your blood sugar is normal, then everything else is exactly the same as for non diabetes. Getting sick, staying sick, fighting infection, every thing. I suppose the trick here is blood sugar control.

I don’t consider type 1 as a component of immunodeficiency. But I am not a doctor and so the argument is based on my simple understanding.

Edit/addendum. Other people understanding diabetes and saying well thought out ideas and the ability to empathize in this time of complete panic will be, well, less than it normally is. Mostly. Don’t let idiots ruin your day or you will have many ruined days!

1 Like

Thanks for the response. That makes sense. Super frustrating. We have enough to deal with and this is a constant trigger. I work really hard to be “normal” with respect to my numbers and people’s ignorance is exhausting at times like this.

Hi Michelle @Mlp1124!
JDRF has some excellent information about how COVID-19 affects PWD. Here’s a link: Coronavirus - JDRF

Thank you for this link!