Price Of insulin throughout the years

Hi everyone my name is Allie Ulset and I’m currently a college student at the University of Wisconsin- Lacrosse. For my public speaking class I’m doing a persuasive speech on why the government should create a law forbidding excessive profit of lifesaving drugs like insulin and I need community interviews. So, I was hoping I could get a response to a couple of my questions on here. I’m interested in this topic because my mom has been a type 1 diabetic for the last 42 years and I’ve seen first hand how much money, time and effort goes into her life everyday. I also think its super important to educate the general public on diabetes. So, here are some of my questions

1. How long have you had type 1 diabetes
  2. Have you ever been admitted to the hospital for diabetes if so how long
  3. If your willing, approximately how much do you think you’ve spent on insulin and also on other things you might need while being a diabetic
  4. Have you ever had to ration your insulin
  5. Have you ever had to go without something you need in order to pay for insulin
  6. How do you feel about the price of insulin
  7. Do you wish the government would set regulations or cap prices for insulin
  8. Feel free to add anything else you feel is important to the topic
    Also, feel free to answer as many or little questions you wish. I appreciate your time and would love to answer any questions you have or just talk!
    -Allie Ulset