Potatoes and delayed BG spikes

Hello all!

This is my first time using this forum! I have been Type 1 since 2009, when I was diagnosed at 16 years old. Recently, I have started to eat sweet potatoes and sweet potato fries a lot more. I noticed that about 3 or so hours after eating,I have been getting high readings even though I have been correctly bolusing prior. I typically do an extended bolus giving myself 50 % of the insulin initially then allowing the other 50% to extend over an hour. I was wondering if anyone else has an issue with potatoes causing sustained/delayed BG spikes? I know potatoes in general are high in carbs, and I account for that. What’s weird is that the spike never happens within the first two hours after the meal; it’s hours later that my blood sugar seems to continue to rise. Any advice/thoughts would be appreciated, thank you! :slight_smile:

Hi @CRWilson and welcome to TypeOneNation. Some carbs act very fast and some very slow. When mixed with fats, some carbs keep giving for up to 5 hours. How is your blood sugar from the time you eat through that first hour? If it’s good then you probably need to keep the rate the same but add units any time to your extended bolus. Of course I am assuming you make all your own insulin decisions and are comfortable with it.

Figure out how much more insulin you need and for how long and add it to your bolus plan.

Also, depending on your activity during that time you may need way less if you are more active. Good luck!

1 Like

@CRWilson Hi Christina and Welcome to this Forum! It is nice seeing your first post and I hope that what you have already read has helped you.