Please help me!

Hello everyone...I have a Dr appt. this thuresday and i am deciding wheather i should get the omimod (pod) or the pump..? I am very active and play soccer a lot in the summer. I will also be swimming on the hot days, and i am not sure if you have to take it off everytime you go swimming or not. Please help me on whitch one to get or give me facts on each so it helps my decison. Thank you veryyy much =]]]

Lauren =)

Hi Lauren:

I've been wearing the OmniPod for 3 years and I love it.  I chose it because I couldn't stand the tubing that the other pumps had.  It allows you (I think) to be a lot free-er, as far as clothing etc. goes.  You never have to worry about wear to put it...in a pocket, bra, garter, etc.  Everything's wireless.  The insulin goes right into the "pod."  And the PDM is wireless and can be carried in your pocketbook, your pocket, backpack, or even clipped onto your belt.  

The part that I love the most is that no one ever knows what I'm doing when I'm bolusing.   It just lookes like I'm checking a phone or something, because it's not attached to me by tubes.

And I wear it in the shower, swimming, etc.  It's totally waterproof.

If you're going to be playing soccer, the OmniPod might be a better choice because you'll never have to worry about where to put your pump (in your bra?).  You'll have your pod on, and you can just leave the PDM on the sidelines.

Kristen

Lauren,

I have an 11 yr. old son on the medtronic pump and he plays soccer with it on!  There has never been any problem with him wearing it during his games, and he is very physical! He just keeps it in a little pump pak around his waist and it seems to be very well protected. I know of somebody on the Omni Pod and they are actually switching over to an Animas pump as they are not happy. Good Luck with your decision, either way I believe you will be happier than having to give shots everyday!

Lauren,