Omnipod stops working after 2 days?

I’ve been using the omipod for more than 5 years now, but recently I’ve been having issues with it lasting the full 3 days. Recently it’s been lasting maybe 2 days, and then I’ll go up over 300 overnight. When I change it, it’s usually bloody and when I put on a new one my blood sugar will be completely fine for another 1/2 days until it does it again. I’ve tried changing the areas where I put my pods and being careful not to put pressure on the pods, but I haven’t had any luck yet. Has anyone else had this experience? Or is there anything else I can try?

That stinks! This is going to sound dumb, but have you called Omnipod yet? They replace any that don’t last like they’re supposed to, and they’ll help you figure out why, too. Oh, and sometimes your local rep will know things to try that the 800# people don’t, or vice versa.

1 Like

I did call them, and they said to try using a pod adhesive to keep it in place… They said they would send me some samples to try, and I’m currently waiting for those to arrive. But I’m not confident that it will help, since I’ve never used adhesives before and I’ve never had a problem! They also said to keep trying different sites, but I’ve tried pretty much everywhere I’ve heard of people placing their sites before.

I’m with you: it doesn’t sound like an adhesion issue. It sounds like something is happening where it’s getting dislodged somehow after awhile. Maybe what they mean is that with better adhesion, it won’t get knocked around as easily? I could see that. Ditto with different sites, some being more prone to getting whacked than others, or just being more stable versus more jiggly. Riding bikes on a brick road makes that difference pretty clear. :slightly_smiling_face: