New here

Hi everyone

My name is Marla and I have an almost 7 yr old daughter (and 5 yr old son) who was dx @ the age of 3.

I'm looking to "meet" some other parents who understand what its like to parent a child with diabetes...

My son was diagnosed the week after his third birthday.  He'll be five this fall.  I understand!

My son was diagnosed in Feb of this year.  So, I'm kinda new to diabetes and new to this site.  I love it here.  Everyone has been so nice and helpful.  My son is 8.  =)

Hi, I'm also new to this site as of today actually. My son was diagnosed almost 3 years ago. He's now 12 but we recently started him on the pump. Lots of questions to go with this... first and foremost how do you let go of the control a little and not feel constantly anxiety ridden? I see that most of you have little guys (or girls) but any suggestions? 

Hi Marla,

My name is Deb and I have an 11 yo daughter that I happened to diagnose at 6 yo while on vacation!  I SO understand.

My daughter has been on the pump since she was 8yo and was dx'd when she was 6.  I have always tried to have her "help" me with any decisions regarding her T1.  At 11 yo, I still have to prompt, but she's getting better.  Your son will forget to bolus at times when you aren't around, but he'll learn with the next BG reading.  The only way I don't go crazy or become too anxious is to view in the same way that kids have to learn EVERYTHING else....trial by example and lessons we teach them.  Our job is to be patient and lead them.  Hope that helps.

My daughter is 10 and was diagnosed not quite two weeks ago.  I have been an emotional wreck.  I am anxiety ridden about nighttimes and afraid she will have a low and I won't know it.  Any ideas how to help this?  Days, I am still nervous when she is outside playing and being a "normal" kid.  I am afraid she will drop herself too low with playing also.  I worry about the lows more than anything....any ideas on how to help with this anxiety?