Need advice for me and my son

My 12 year son has just been diagnosed with type 1 seven weeks ago which has come as a shock. He is now back at school but can’t go through the day without having hypos . Is this normal as I’ve heard it’s the honeymoon period. I am in such a state and can’t stop crying. Many thanks for any comments

Hi Lisa @LisaBarrass,
I can understand your shock and know you are wondering “why my son”; there really really doesn’t need to be a family history of diabetes. I know my parents wondered at my diagnosis 60 years ago when there wasn’t anyone else in my extended family and none of my seven siblings with diabetes.

Now about your son’s daily hypo events. [Note that I am NOT a medical doctor but responding here sharing what I have learned by dealing with diabetes.] The “honeymoon period” effect combined with insulin dose management could be the cause at this point - too much insulin for his activity and foods eaten.

That may be an over-simple explanation. TypeOne diabetes management is a lifelong balancing act between activities, foods and insulin and the human brain, assisted by all the great tools we now have, will never master this formula - but we can come very close. During the time he is in honeymoon he should just be prepared to deal with a hypo event - how severy are his daily low body glucose readings? If they occur at the same time every day, his medical care team should be able to advise you about either modifying insulin or ordering that eat something different. If the events are random [such as they are not following running a race or skipping a snack] finding a solution may be more difficult.

You haven’t mentioned his insulin management of meal and activity schedule or time of his hypos so it is not possible for me to offer any more than the very general suggestions above.

@LisaBarrass