Medtronic Guardian CGM & Swimming

Hi guys! I’m new to the CGM by Medtronic. Am I able to swim laps with it on? Also, I have a son, can I lounge in the pool with it? I heard it only works for 30 min in water. Thanks! Also what do you use to keep the sticker from causing residue to the sensor?

hi @Mars you can swim with it. lounge in the pool, dive, etc. I used to use “unisolve” or acetone (nail polish remover)

1 Like

Thank you! Glad, I asked. Do you use any of the stickers to secure the sensor ? Which one is your favorite?

No worries! I did use an IV patch I think “Skin Grip” it was boring and clear. Amazon makes different stuff now. I must say I eventually gave up on Guardian and went to the Dexcom Dark Side.

1 Like

Why? The Dexcom was messing with my skin too much.

1 Like

Hi @Mars , the main reason was I wanted more accuracy with less “calibration “. I also had 2 really bad lows I couldn’t feel so I wanted to try it. Yes I am lucky I am not having adhesive issues at all.

1 Like

PDI wipes work wonders at getting the adhesive off the sensor. and skin, I usually keep them with my diabetes kit. https://www.amazon.com/1131957-Adhesive-PDI-Professional-Disposables/dp/B00D7BXU88/ref=sr_1_4?dchild=1&keywords=pdi+adhesive+remover+wipes&qid=1624974834&sr=8-4

1 Like

Wow, PDI is a lot cheaper than the Unisolve we’ve been using. Thanks for the tip! I’ll be sure to report back with a review. :slightly_smiling_face:

In the last few months I switched to Medtronic and just a few days ago found out there is a 30 minute limit for the connection between the 770g and the transmitter. After that, the pump stops trying to connect to the sensor/transmitter. You can disconnect the transmitter, reconnect and restart the session. According to my rep and a couple of people in their call center, that is the only way to fix it, VERY annoying to first find out when you’re on a trip.