Medtronic Guardian 3 vs. Enlite 2

Hello,

I posted a similar thing in the Insulin Pump group because I did not know which would be more applicable to these questions.

I am thinking about getting the Medtronic 670G hybrid closed loop pump, however, my concern is solely about the Guardian Sensor 3 (currently I’m using the Dexcom G4 sensor with my Animas Vibe pump). The readings on the Enlite from what I’ve been told from various people are complete garbage, however, they recently in the last couple months released the Guardian 3. In reading the specs and the FDA report, the MDA percentage is on par with the Dexcom G5 (around 11%), so it should be pretty accurate.

Is anyone able to confirm that this is the case? Has anyone had issues with the Guardian 3?

The Guardian 3 is part of the reason I’m switching and I don’t trust the Enlite 2, so I want to make sure that I’m making the right choice.

Thanks for all of your insight!
-Mike

Hi,
I’m sorry I have NO experience with the DEX but I have recently upgraded from the enlight sensor to the Guardian and I can say it is much more accurate! I was ready to throw the Enlite sensors out the window. The Guardian. for me, is so much closer to real numbers and I feel more confident with it.
That’s about all I can offer you for insight :smiley:

I am curious myself about the Guardian. Recently, the transmitter for my Enlite broke. Medtronic told me I would have to wait 18 weeks to get a new one, or I could get a 630G or 670G. the entire 670G system is not available until November. Luckily I had an old transmitter that still works. I’m so frustrated. I wish some organization would hold a seminar where each pump/CGM company would have demonstrations so you could compare and make a choice. Getting these things sight unseen is difficult and with the insurance and price hurdles, you can’t make these choices lightly.