Just seeking advice for T1's who have grown up with a over protective parent

OK, I'm looking for some advice here and any and all input will be grateful. Being so i'm New at this T1 diabetic thing. I want to hopefully get some in site from either older kids, teens or adults that have dealt with T1. I have a few questions:  1. What did your parent(s) do that totally fusterated you?  2. Was there anything you wished your parent(s) had done differently?

I'm asking these questions because i don't want to feel like i'm driving my daughter crazy by always asking if she is ok. Always wondering if she is running around enough or too much. Is she drinking her water and of course the list goes on and on.... I just figured if i could hear from some teen T1's or even older who remember the "growing up" days they could help me out. I know my daughter has enough just having diabetes and she doesn't need me adding to it. Not to mention if i know what not to do, i can catch myself before i get started. Hey being a kid is hard enough (yeah right), but having a mom or dad that worries you non-stop just makes it worse :)..... So thanks to any of you who can give me some input/advice

my parents were very, very overprotective as i was growing up. i don't fault them--they felt panicked like many parents do. i never went over to a friend's house or spent the night anywhere. my aunt or my grandma would watch me if my parents needed a sitter. they checked my sugars around the clock and would always ask me what my level is. even now, they still ask me what my sugar is all the time.

because of this, i often felt very isolated and alone. it was incredibly frustrating. at school, i could never eat any of the goodies. i was on a fixed carb plan, so i always brought my lunch and snacks with me. when i was in middle school and high school, my mom would get a print out of what i bought with my lunch money (everything was scanned) and then promptly yell at me if it wasn't "diabetic appropriate."