Just diagnosed

Hello, I was just diagnosed with T1D a few months ago (I'm 36) after having "gestational diabetes" during my second pregnancy.  I had follow-up A1c testing and at first they thought I had T2 so told me to lose weight (I lost 20lbs and am now normal weight), exercise more (I was already running 5 days a week and doing pilates 3 days) and eat fewer carbs (I was already limiting meals to 2-3 servings).  This resulted in my A1c going from 6.2 to 6.8.  Luckily my son was in a screening research study for T1D and has the genetic marker for it, so I told the endocrinologist to test for GAD antibodies.  Turns out it was T1D afterall.  At least it makes more sense now.  I think I have adjusted to the diagnosis pretty well (I'm a psychologist afterall!), but the logistics of 4 injections a day and not being allowed to eat between meals has been hard. i have two young boys (ages 1 & 3), work full time and have a busy social life. I am currently trying to figure out how much insulin I need without going too low (lowest so far was a 47...) and trying not to test a million times a day to figure it all out.  I would love to hear from other parents with T1D or other people who were diagnosed as adults and what worked for them.  Any advice would be appreciated!  And ladies...any leads on cool looking purses/bags for the diabetes supplies?

Naomi

Welcome to the club! :P

I was dx'd at age 39. It took about 6 months of injections before I switched to the pump. It's SO much easier - especially since I'm not big on schedules. I'm a project manager, so I deal with schedules all day - I don't want to deal with it in my personal life too! I still test quite a bit, since I am quite active, but it allows for better control.

My daughter has T1 also (dx'd at 9 months), but so far my son hasn't shown any signs. I do get a little jittery when I see him gulping down water, but then I live in Houston which is just about the hottest place on earth right now.

Good luck!