Jobs and Diabetes...Help!

I am a senior undergrad student getting ready to head out into "the real world." Since being diagnosed with type 1 last January, I have been lucky enough to work almost as needed in situations that are in a more casual situation (such as babysitting and running my own photography business). I am somewhat concerned about what working a full time job with diabetes will be like.

Right now, I am on the OmniPod and checking my blood sugars 8 or so times a day. I will more than likely not be in a 9-5 office situation where I can easily check my blood sugar, grab a snack, or take a break. My job will be on my feet and on the go.

My question to you all in a similar situation is, how do you manage working with diabetes? How do you tell your potential boss about your needs?

Thanks!!

Emily-

Yikes! The real world!  Welcome to the big leagues, my friend! ;)

Seriously, though, you'll be fine.  I have never been in an office situation, and manage ok.  I work in an early education center, so I am on my feet all day, literally chasing small children around.  I love it, but it does make D care challenging sometimes.  I have to lock my purse up, but I have a smaller bag (like a big coin purse or small cosmetic bag) that has my meter, strips, lancets, and glucose.  This goes with me everywhere!  A low plus trying to wrangle 4 or 5 one year olds does not mix!

I also recently got a CGM, which helps me feel more comfortable (when it's working properly).  Your basals may need to be adjusted once you start your job and see what it does to your bs.  If you are seeing a lot of low, definitely talk to your endo.