IC ratio or insulin sensitivity....what’s the real issue

Hey,

So, I use the 670G and started a strict ketogenic
diet a week ago. I am finding that my mealtime boluses are not covering the tiny amount of carbs I’m eating, so I end up hovering around 150. Then, when I correct my BG (my target is 85-100), I still seem to hang out between 130-150. My IC ratio is 1:10 and my insulin sensitivity is about 60 (which is accuarate for the roughly 17 units I take daily)…any ideas why I’m having trouble with mealtime and correction boluses? Thoughts of if the keto diet could be affecting things?

Hi Alice @AliceD, first a Warm Welcome to the TypeOneNation Forum!

Starting anything new, like your strict keto diet will almost always pop in a few of the unexpected. You didn’t mention what your prior diet was like or how long you have been living with diabetes so my response has to be very general. My initial observations - and I’m not a Medical Doctor but my life has existed for the last 62 years with injected/infused insulin - are:

• How recently have you validated your insulin sensitivity for the time of day in question? My sensitivity varies depending on time of day and has chanced over time - my lunch-time is the same as your 60.
  • Carbohydrate ratios too can change with time of day and should be evaluated occasion.
  • I have only a general knowledge of the keto diet [I eat a relatively high carb diet] so I’ll only suggest that you look for hidden carbohydrates.

Best wishes for your exploration.

@AliceD hi Alicce, agree with @Dennis. Eating low carb, super low carb, or no carb will affect your basal rate your sensitivity and your IC.

you are forcing your body to convert fats to energy, but you can switch back and some argue you switch back faster (as in a change in overall metabolism) if there are carbs present.

are you in auto mode? the hanging out at 150 would be a basal issue if you were in manual. You can’t fix that with additional meal time insulin.