Half Marathon

I was wondering if anyone out there has trained for an event like a half marathon and could give me some pointers for controlling my blood sugars.

My running group meets for "carb loading" the night before the event....obviously I can't do that.  Any tips?

I am also concerned about going high or low during the 13 mile event. Any suggestions?

I just started training for it and it isn't until Sept. so I have plenty of time to figure things out. I know that there are many diabetics who participate in these types of events and since this is my first time, I wanted to get all the advise I could from them.

Wish me luck :)

Lindagayle

I ran a half-marathon last fall, and I am training to run a second.

It seems to me that training for an event like a marathon or half-marathon means figuring things out as you go along. That's what it was like for me last summer when I was training. Even after 11 years of having type 1 diabetes, I'm still figuring things out, so training is just an extension of that.

Here's what I do:

On a normal (non-running) morning, I have a small bowl of cereal (22 g carb) and 1 unit of Humalog. When I am training for a half-marathon (running between 5-13 miles after breakfast) I only take half a unit and eat a much bigger breakfast (usually a bagel with cream cheese, a banana and cottage cheese or yogurt).

My blood sugar is usually crazy high (13-15 mmol/l; 234-270 mg/dl) before I run. I don't like being that high, but if I'm any lower than, say, 12 mmol/l (216 mg/dl), I'll go low rather quickly.

I have to stop and test several times during my run (obviously, the longer I run, the more times I test). When I ran the actual half-marathon, I tested every 20 minutes.