H1n1

I'm just wondering what other parents are thinking about H1N1. I'm a teacher, so I've been home this summer with my 4 year old who has T1, but I'll be returning to work soon, and she'll be returning to daycare. I'm becoming more anxious about H1N1 as these days approach. I know they're working on a vaccine, but I'm also nervous about a new vaccine and its possible side effects. I'm sure none of you have an "answer", but I just needed to reach out to somebody about this.

I hadn't even thought about it.  My son has just been diagnosed in July.  I have no idea how being sick will effect his levels.  Geez, when do we get to relax?  I sell vaccines, so i understand a little about how they work.  I am not sure, however, how many variations of H1N1 there are in existence.  My issue with the Flu vaccines is that it only protects you against certain strains (whichever they choose to put in it) and there doesn't seem to be any cross protection with other strains.  So hopefully, whatever goes into the H1N1 vaccine will protect against whatever is out there currently.  What has your experience been with the flu vaccine?  I believe it is a modified live virus, did your child's glucose level react to it?

My son was dx with type 1 in June 2008. So because of that, he had his first flu shots last fall.  Luckily the shot didn't really seem to  bother his bg levels. 

I'm a teacher too and I am also concerned about H1N1 and the affect on the kids with type 1. Hopefully everyone will stay safe. I know that when kids come to school sick, illnesses spread like wildfire at out small school.

Jennifer,

I'm sure you're feeling overwhelmed right now. Honestly, we never get to relax. I feel like every time I know an illness is going around, I'm paranoid. So far, our experience with the flu vaccine has been good. She has had the vaccine twice and hasn't had any negative side effects. Her glucose levels were not affected at all.