Glucagon question

Is there a generic form of glucagon? I went to pick up a new gluc. Rx today and my insurance co-pay has gone up to $75. I find that ridiculous b/c it's a necessary life-saving thing and as far as I know, there's no other brand. But, maybe there's another type that I don't know about?? Thanks for your help!

If there is I'm unaware of them.  I'm commenting to bump this back up for you :)

[quote user="Sarah"]

Is there a generic form of glucagon?

[/quote]

I think glucagon was around before modern drug copyrights.  I think Eli Lilly and Allscripts Healthcare Solutions both make glucagon.  I never heard of allscripts before but they came up on a google search.   I think glucagon is expensive because of it's relatively very low demand and that it's hard to make (r-DNA origin and sterile lyophilization). 

I am a school nurse interested in this topic.
Does any one know if there is a way to get glucagon into schools with out going through the family? For example: there is a program called Epipens for schools that provides epi pens to schools to have on hand for emergencies. I think this is so important for ALL emergency medications (for diabetes, seizures, etc.) If there isnt something like this - would anyone have any ideas on possibly how to get some advocacy going for this?

Hi, Katie @bortzk, and thanks for reviving this thread — what you’re describing is a great idea!

Glucagon is expensive, and thankfully most expire without ever being used. It sure would be more efficient for society if we had a common supply pool at schools, rather than each family paying individually.

I don’t know anything about who might be working on it, but a quick Google search turned up what sound like programs or efforts in various different states, and this relatively recent NPR story:
School Nurse Breaks A Rule To Save A Life | NPR Illinois.

I also found JDRF’s “Become an Advocate” signup page here:
Become an Advocate - JDRF,