Gain weight

Hi again!

Do tell, please…how to gain weight? High fats (not avocado and peanut butter fats, animal fats, right??) cause issues, high carbs (too many per meal) cause issues. Can’t gain weight eating veggies.
I feel like this disease between eating and watching numbers is my whole life! People say don’t let it be. HOW CAN YOU NOT!!! ???
Can you tell I am very discouraged and frustrated!? I’m only 3 months post diagnosis!
I will see my nutritionist. Just wanted some ideas from you!

hi @HopeFloats2020 Now I’m not a doctor, so I am glad to hear you are bringing this up with a nutritionist as well as your medical team.

Here’s how I understand it; insulin is a growth hormone. It provides the key for your cells to use blood glucose in metabolism for energy. You have to balance food, insulin and activity to have decent blood sugar control.

Without insulin, your body starves, (even when you eat) so it burns fats. Your kidneys have a tough job because your blood sugar is high so you pass enormous amounts of water and sugar. So uncontrolled, you are losing water faster then you can drink it, and burning fats = you will lose weight in a horrible way.

Once you get our blood sugar under control, metabolizing the food you eat returns to “close to normal”. so that’s job #1.

Then you balance the calories you burn every day with what you need to eat. At first, you will need more calories because you need to replace the burned fat and muscle loss that occurs with diabetes. You can continue like that - with a calorie surplus - and you will gain weight.