First low

Hey guys. I am a 20 year old sophomore in college and was diagnosed about a month ago. Its been a crazy overwhelming journey to get to this point, but today i experienced my first true low. IT was scary to go through and i can’t help but be afraid of getting a low in the night and not waking up.

Any advice? Ill take anything like good food to be eating, what is a great snack? Is it totally ok to be worried about this?

Thank you,
Courtney Ek

Always check you blood sugar before going to bed. If it is under 120, I will usually eat a snack with complex carbs and protein so it is digested more slowly. If you really want to get a good idea of what your blood sugar runs, you can test in the middle of the night for a few nights in a row to see if your blood sugar tends to get lower or higher at a certain time. I haven’t done this in several years, so someone else might have a better idea of what times to test, etc. I always wake up when I’m low, but some people don’t, so testing in the night might be a good idea to see what your blood sugar tends to do.

I haven’t been low at bedtime yet, I have only been diagnosed for two weeks. My Endo told me a granola bar was a good choice, no more than 20 grams of carbs, and only if Im under 100!

Hello type1ofakind!
Sorry you were diagnosed with this weird as heck disease! First and foremost read and understand what carbs are. If you eat a peanut butter (6 carbs) wheat sandwich (30) for instance the body absorbs the bread slower because the pb is protein and fat. Because the stomach is working to dissolve the fat and pb the bread doesn’t HIT your sugar as quickly. There’s a buffer of sorts in the way.
If you eat the bread alone the stomach instantly starts to break it down making the sugar rise quickly.