Exercise induced hyperglycemia

I’ve been type 1 diabetic since 1996. I’ve been experiencing strange phenomenon of exercise induced hyperglycemia, like say my blood sugar was 110mg/dl fasting, once i start playing soccer or gym or any strenuous exercise, it shoots up to 200 or even more , I need more insulin shots to control it. None of the endos cud gv a satisfactory explanation for tht. I’m on 3 short acting and Lantus at nights.

Hi Dr. Ash! @Dr.Ash

This happens to me when I exercise during hot weather. I actually had to stop power walking with my toddler during July and August this year because my blood sugar shot up so much. I also had a really difficult time at the pool. When my family went to the beach for the day, I spent most of the time in the shade of an umbrella trying to keep my blood sugar numbers under 200.

Hi,
I’m an orthopedic spine surgeon by profession dealing with type 1 for the last 23 years. Initially I was a teenager, so my control was poor, bt once I attended my.medical school, I started having a tight control. I’ve studied a lot on T1D, bt even many endos cudnt answer this phenomenon of exercise induced hyperglycemia. Due to long standing DM i developed mild hypoglycemia unawareness, so my endo suggested Insulin pump and CGM to counter these issues. Planning to get one by December.
Hw ru managing this issue of exercise induced hyperglycemia?
Thanks
Dr Ash