Diabetes Kids Book

I'm a new parent with Type 1. I was recently thinking about how I would explain my disease to my kids in the future. I was looking around and didn't see any books about explaining diabetes to kids that looked very appealing. I'm a graphic designer, so I thought it might be fun to make my own short illustrated book. I'd like some feedback if you all want to take a look at the spreads:

www.jasonhildredesign.com/.../Diabetes-Book

Specifically:

- There's one blank page and I'm still thinking of what visual I'd put there. Ideas?

- Is the story simple enough for kids to understand? How detailed do the rest of you get when explaining this to your kids? My twin girls are only 6 months old, so I have plenty of time, but I was thinking I'd introduce the book to them in a few years when they're old enough. Not sure of an exact target age.

- I have one page that shows an injection in the abdomen. My wife thinks that's a little creepy for a kids' book and I could have something else there. Maybe, but my thought is at some point the kids will see me doing that and it's part of the whole deal with having diabetes and taking injections, so why not show it? Thoughts?

Any feedback will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Jason

Thats pretty good but kids may not get the whole insulin thing still so maybe explain insulin in more detail!

I like it. It looks like it is for pre-schoolers.

That was a good idea. I would show it to them when they are around 4 years old. This is such a good idea!

I think you don't have to be too worried about showing an "injection" since it is a cartoon, and your kids (and probably their friends) will have seen you do shots many times before they read the book.  I don't think little kids are stunned by much.  Haha.  I was dxd at age 7.  

Thanks!

Your book is cool!

Maybe instead of showing an injection you can show the insulin being drawn up?  And for the blank page you should put in a mention of insulin pumps!