Diabetes is winning

I’m currently 27 I was diagnosed when I was 23. It completely changed the landscape of my life. I was finishing up my final year of my original contract with the Army Reserves and going to reenlist and go to college. I got accepted into the civil engineering program at my state university. The day I was suppose to enroll in classes I was in the hospital finding out I was diabetic. So I wouldn’t be able to reenlist now as a t1d. With out the army to pay for school I wouldn’t be able to afford it. Now I work in construction which I don’t mind but its a constant struggle keeping infusion sets on, going low, and just general management with long hours. I thought about switching jobs but losing my employer insurance seems too risky. I have really struggled the last 2 years staying motivated to deal with it all. I have been admitted twice in 6 months for dka. One of the times I had to leave a wedding I was in 40 min before the ceremony. I guess I am still angry four years later. I feel like t1d has taking something from me. Like it controls my life, it literally effects everything I do. I always have to prioritize it over all else. I guess I just don’t feel totally free anymore and It makes me angry very angry. I am tired of it all and its only been four years. And when I think about it being forever its just overwhelming. I am a warrior so ill always fight but the last two years I have been losing. I guess I am reaching out to see if anyone else has felt this way and if you started winning what helped? Also I have a close cousin, she is the only other type 1 I know. She was diagnosed at a young age and is in her mid 30 now. So I feel like her experience is very different then mine so I cant bring myself to reach out to her. I feel weird because she has lived with it so much longer than me so im worried that it will just come across as a pitty party. I am in the stage where I tell everyone im ok but im not just looking for some advice.

Hi Ronnie,