Delivery

I am 32 weeks pregnant, and am getting nervous/excited for the birth of my first child. I have been seeing both a regular OB/GYN and a perinatologist throughout my pregnancy. However, neither one of them is very knowledgeable about type 1 diabetes and pregnancy.

I am currently taking Lantus (currently 50 units, up from 36 pre-pregnancy) and Humolog based on whatever I eat. I have been diabetic since I was ten (am now 23), and am in good control. I am also a nurse, and I consider myself to know a lot about my diabetes.

However, I willingly admit that I know nothing about being pregnant and diabetic. It has been a huge learning curve.

Basically, I'm getting nervous about the upcoming delivery. What have other people done to manage their diabetes while in labor/delivery? Do you still take your lantus like usual? Has anyone asked to do their own blood sugars instead of having to wait on the lab or the nurses to do them? Do they put you on an insulin drip? What happened to your blood sugars while in labor/after delivery? What about dealing with lows? Basically, I'm trying to get all the information I can!

Thanks!

Expect that your doctor may want to induce early and that it's likely you'll have a c-section.  The nurses who taught my birthing class said they'd never seen a diabetic woman allowed to go to term.  I had a healthy pregnancy and expected to be an exception to the rule, but my doctor still insisted on inducing at 38 weeks and because my body wasn't ready I labored for a day and then finally had a c-section.  I've come to find out my experience is very common.