Creative ways to reduce insertion set pain?

I've been using the Inset (straight in) for the past 6 years or so with only the occasional pain upon insertion (usually I hit a nerve or something). Well, now I have lost 15 lbs and have less padding. I've switched to the Inset 30 (angled) but it still hurts a bit. Any ideas on how to reduce the pain?

(I guess being free from insulin shots for the past 8 years has made me a big baby.)

I know of the frozen peas trick, but how exactly should that happen:

Select site

Apply frozen peas

Wipe adhesive/disinfectant-let dry

Apply inset

?

Good question. Last night was Sarah's 3rd insertion and the first one she complained about. She's very thin (4'9' and about 72lbs), so she doesn't have much in the way of fat, and because she's little, there aren't nearly the number of insertion sites the book claims (it shows about five across and two inches apart in the book - there's no way...).

Anyway, I'd love to hear from other pumpers how they deal with this. she's using the Animas Ping straight tube insertion.

Hi Michelle-

Sarah and I are using the same insertion set! It's called the Inset (available from Animas). If you didn't already know, they come in multiple colors. I highly suggest getting the colors, it makes things just a bit more interesting. For skinny minnies and kiddos the Inset 30 (angled) if often suggested instead. It requires less padding. Since this is her 3rd insertion, I'm betting you have a big ol' box of the Insets (or perhaps multiple boxes) so it might not be feasible to switch to the Inset 30 quite yet. Animas will however, send out out 2 free Inset 30s for you to try out.

https://www.animas.com/animas-insulin-pumps/inset-infusion-sets/free-sets-promo-sign-up-form

You can also ask the person who sold you the pump (your Animas Pump Representative), or your CDE for some free Inset 30s.