Any athletes out there? I need your help!

I joined soccer this year and it's my first year in a sport, besides rodeo. Today before practice, my bloodsugar was 106. I ate a nutrigrain bar. During practice, my bg was 74. I ate 4 tablets of glucose, sat out, and my bg went up to 122. I started to practice again and during the water break, I was 188. This was at about 5:00. I got home at 6:15 and tested for supper, and I was 324! I have a pump but I take it off during practice. On the first day of practice, my bg was also in the 300s after practice. I don't really want to put my pump on during practice or do a bolus or anything before because I've gotten low at 2 out of 4 practices so far. Do you have any suggestions?

I had issues with this too, when I started sports. I just talked with my doc. and he helped me work out a program for it!

I also had this issue. My doctors told me the high blood sugar after practice had to do with adrenaline. But like "diabeticandproud" said... just talk to your doctor about it and come up with a plan. You'll get it all figured out in no time :]

Do talk to your doctor, but here are a few things that I found helpful.  If you are going low during practice, you may need a higher than normal bg before starting.  My endocrinologist recommended a bg closer to 200 than 100mg/dl before I began practice (I ran cross country and some practices were ~10 miles, don't know what you're doing).  You may need to eat before practice too.  I would also be cautious about rejoining practice after experiencing a low.  In terms of after exercise high bg, be careful when you bolus.  I would run 300s and 400s and after taking the appropriate insulin crash 30 minutes later after I calmed down.