Animas

I'm thinking about going on the Animas pump and wanted opinions/experiences about it. Thanks! :)

Love it! you can bolus straight from your meter.. :D

Citlin,

I have been using the Animas Ping for about 10 months.  It is my first pump.  It has its pluses and minuses.  You can look at all the features on paper till you are blue in the face, however, what really matters is how user friendly it is.  My suggestion to you (which I will be doing when this pump's warranty is up) is to try every pump you are interested in for at least 2 weeks, preferable for a month.  If your doctor's office can't do this for you, contact the manufacturer's rep. in your area (ask your doctor who it is or go to their website).  One of the frustrating things I found out about Animas, and assume its the same with other pump manufacturers, is that they do not issue updates to their products, unless its a critical update.  Also, evaluate each pump's computer software, which I use to evaluate how well my diabetes is in control.  Animas's software is adequate (mom always said "if you can't say something nice...").  Also, ask the pump representative when the new model is coming out.  You don't want to get a pump and then find out 5 months later a new model is out and is much better.  Right now I'm evaluating CGMs and Dexcom is the one I'm favoring.  I know Animas's next model is going to be integrated with it, but not sure when.

Good luck,

Bill