Advice for a newbie

Hi, my name is megan and i’m 15 years old. i was diagnosed with T1D almost three weeks ago. it’s been a very hard time for me and i find myself feeling depressed and alone more and more often. i was a very social and outgoing person and now i feel so unlike myself. i have great friends and family who are very kind and supportive, but i still feel like none of them understand because none of them have T1D. i’m still very new at this so any advice on how to handle this physically and emotionally or any advice on social events and just trying to figure all this out would very much be appreciated. i’m also very curious about insulin pumps and how they feel and if people like them. my doctor had told me a little about pumps but not much. anyway, any advice or tips would be great. thank you :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Hi Megan! I’m Abby; I’m also 15 and I’ve had T1D since I was 7.
First of all, welcome to the world of T1D! (Probably the most ironic sentence you’ll ever hear because there’s nothing “welcoming” about being diagnosed with this condition…) I’m glad you’re ok and I’m glad you found TypeOneNation. It’s a great place to share your feelings and ask questions.
Second: What you’re feeling is completely normal. I went through a period like that too, and frankly, I still feel that way sometimes. It can be hard to feel like you don’t “fit in” with everyone else. Right now, your condition feels like a big part of your life; eventually, it’ll become so routine that you’ll almost forget about it. Once that happens, it will get easier and easier to feel “normal”.
If you haven’t already, tell your friends about your condition. Their support will help immensely. I also recommend learning how to do insulin yourself rather than having your parents help you… obviously you’ll still need their help for carb counting, etc, but independence will help you feel more in control of your condition.