Type 1 Diagnosis as Adult?

Anyone diagnosed with Type 1 as an adult? I am 31. My mother and son are both Type 1 and I went in for diabetes symptoms yesterday. Doc immediately said I was Type 2 and didn’t want to do any testing for Type 1. I have been checking for ketones and am only showing small, with a large reading this morning and then back to small. Symptoms only started a month ago. Currently waiting to hear back if he will refer me to an Endo for antibody testing. Just wondering if anyone else had any experiences like this.

@TarnishedAngel hi Ashley,

there is no maximum age for type 1. I was just emailing someone who was diagnosed at 69 years old.

i am a mechanic - not a doctor, but here’s what I learned:

Keytones are normal for anyone who is losing weight. Anytime the body is metabolizing fat, keytones are present in blood and urine. The presence of keytones does not indicate anything except you are burning fat. That being said… if your body does not have enough insulin, then it must burn fat and muscle for energy while glucose builds up in the blood. The only organ that can metabolize glucose without insulin is the brain. Since your son has type 1, I assume you have a meter… what’s you blood sugar?

positive for antibodies means your body is at risk for autoimmune attack on insulin producing beta cells. for a lot of adults, the process of destroying your beta cells tends to be slower, meaning you can make insulin for a longer time. if a c-peptide test shows you are insulin deficient, and your blood glucose is high, then the doctor may start you on insulin or insulin “kickers” which increases the insulin your body makes. if a c-peptide test shows you have excess insulin, they may start you on metformin as a means to help you absorb the insulin you are already making.