Statins and Type 1 at 54

My Endocrinologist is recommending I begin taking a statin. My LDL Cholesterol is just above the “good” range, but there is heart disease in my family. I am 54 years old and he has been recommending this for a couple of years. My LDL stays about the same each checkup, and while I exercise and definitely eat a “heart healthy” diet I have been unable to lower that level on my own.
But, I am concerned about the side effects. The body fatigue and muscle aches are a concern since I already have that from some bursitis in my hip, issues with a tendon in my foot, and micro tears in a rotator cuff. And, fatigue, well, as an elementary school teacher, I am already “fatigued” after work and am concerned this medication will make a hard job even harder. But… of course I want to be smart, and I know the risk of heart disease is high.
If anyone has experience with this I would love to hear your story and your recommendations. Thanks. And, be well.

@Kbescherer hi Katherine, only a small number get side effects you describe, I’ve been taking statins for >10 years and have had no side effects and my cholesterol was always good (now it’s great). You can always stop.

Hi Katherine @Kbescherer, I’ve been on prescribed statin for about 15 years since my total cholesterol went above 150; the endocrinologist I was seeing at that time told me that the target for a person with long-term diabetes should be as close to 10 as possible.

during my time on statins - at least three different ones during 15 years - I have not had any problem with “soreness”. In fact, since I began using the gym regularly, 4 to 6 days every week, the shoulder bursitis that had been bothering me since the 1970’s has cleared up - and now in my late 70’s I am up and about, relatively active without signs of fatigue. Of course, each of us is different.

Thanks Joe. Good to know. :blush: