Spike in Blood glucose level post gym

Hi all,

I am a 26-year-old Male and was diagnosed with TD1 last year. My blood sugar level temporarily spikes too much after a gym session. My doctor said that it happens due to hormonal changes due to an intense workout.
Is this sudden and temporary spike a problem in the long term? Has anyone dealt with the same situation?

Hi @UDAY,

Yes, quite understandable. At some point in your workout routine you went beyond aerobic exercise [which tends to lower glucose levels] to anaerobic exercising that very often pushes body glucose levels [BGL] high, including extremely high.

I’m not a scientist or medical doctor but can offer a simple layman’s explanation that your muscles are screaming for extra food [sugar] for fuel and your alpha cells signal your liver to release glucagon / glucose.

Be aware that extended or extreme activity could cause a drop in your BGL 12 to 24 hours after the exercise.

I have been experiencing the same thing since I was diagnosed more than a year ago.
We are all different and respond to stimuli differently. BUt you are not alone. It took me a while to suss out how to deal with my sugar spikes. What this tells me is I have a healthy liver :smiley:

My sugars spike during ANY exercise and it can last for up to 3 hours after finishing a workout. I do things like kickboxing, aerobics, spinning, weights, walks and runs. The only time I don’t need to compensate is for walks as they are liesurely and don’t seem to effect my sugars one way or the other.

I avoid carbs before a workout and I set my basal to 200% during my workouts. Sometimes I have to bolus to get the sugars down under 200, but for the most part I have figured out how I react to each workout and I compensate beforehand with a bolus. Even a run, which for most people will lower BG, will spike mine.

Having a CGM allows me to keep constant track of what is happening and having the pump allows the double basal rate which helps tremendously.