Skin Irritation

I have been wearing the Minimed CGM for a few months now and am constantly getting blisters.  I used the IV3000 tape first and got really bad blisters (bleeding).  When I ran out, I switched to the foam tape that Medtronics has.  That has also caused me to have blisters.  The edge of the transmitter is rubbing my skin and after 4 days or so, it begins to blister.  Any suggestions?? Any and all help would be great!!

Brandy, I too use the MM CGMS and have found that if I use a piece of folded Kleenex or a folded gauze pad UNDER the transmitter part, it greatly reduces the irritation when I remove the tape.  I've used paper towel, Kleenex, gauze pads, even a dried out alcohol swab..anything that it CLEAN and mostly sanitary should work.  I find that I only have to fold it so that it keeps the transmitter somewhat elevated.  So for me, I put the sensor in,. do my pre-taping, add the transmitter, put the padding under the transmitter portion, and then tape everything down securely.  For me, that includes putting paper tape like and 'X' over the transmitter and sensor, then covering it all with a cut piece of Tegaderm HP, then adding a few crossed strips of HypaFix tape to keep it all tight (3 strips over the transmitter and extending over the edges of the Tegaderm.  Gives me a secure tape job for 6-7 days until I have to recharge the transmitter.

I also found that I had less irritation when I started using a prescription lotion called Desonide.  It helped reduce the itch.  I apply it prior to attaching transferor and then again if I can successfully remove the transmitter and get a few more days beyond the recharge.  Has cut down on the itchiness problem for me.

Hope this helps.

PS...everyone has a different taping technique...some prefer the Opsite Flexifit tape....I found it did not work well for me, but       everyone is different!

Michelle, MM722 and CGMS