Salutations!

Hello, I'm Stephanie. 

I was diagnosed as a Type 1 Diabetic on June 3, 2013 at the age of 22. It came out of left field, as it seems to, as I have no known family history of it.

Currently on insulin pens, waiting on insurance to approve a pump for me.

I'm still learning, especially about the disease.

I really need to work on my eating habits, as I'm an extremely picky eater. Extremely. I'm slowly learning but it's a daily struggle.

I also need motivation for exercise too, I'd love to hear little work out ideas, or ways you motivate yourself!

I'm excited to become a part of this community, we all need this support.

Thank you!

Hi Stephanie!

It's a big adjustment, but it looks like you are identifying ways to get healthy, which is great. I was diagnosed at age 4, and I'm now 26 (almost 27), so I've had it for close to 23 years. I think I may have had an easier time of it because I didn't have to make the big adjustments/lifestyle changes you'll have to make, but it's definitely doable. I haven't felt limited by diabetes ever.

What struggles are you having with eating, specifically? And as for exercise, I know what you mean. I jog during my lunch hour, because I don't like waking up early (and often push snooze several times even when I try) and it's hard for me to feel motivated once I get home from work. I'd rather spend time with my husband and our dog :)

For my exercises, I do 20-30 minutes of cardio (either jogging or elliptical) and maybe 20 minutes or so of weights, depending on the day. Some days I don't do weights at all, but I think it's good to have a mix of both. There's also a facebook group for Type 1 diabetic athletes that I'm part of; that may be a good place for you to look for workout ideas and tips too.

It sounds like you're doing great Stephanie.  Through the whole time you have diabetes you'll be learning about it and about what works for you.