Questions for those with Dexcom G6

Hi everyone,

I’ve been a Type 1 Diabetic since 1997, and I’ve never used a permanent CGM system (I’ve only tried them for 1-2 weeks at a time, roughly 4 times in total).

I am very interested in getting the Dexcom G6. If you have one and are using it:

1. Where do you typically apply the sensor?

2. How noticeable (to you) is the sensor? Do you always feel it on you?

3. Do the spots where you put the sensor every get irritated?

4. How good is the adhesive? I don’t swim but I like to run about 3-4 times a week.

5. Any major cons that you don’t like?

Thank you!

I’ve been using the G6 for 3 months. It’s great enough that I’m paying the cash price. I wear it on my abdomen, though many wear on back of arm. I extend mine using the Spike app, usually around 20 days with no irritation. I find it very unnoticeable. Much more comfortable and accurate than the Medtronic sensors and transmitters. I use Skin Grip adhesive overlays to make sure they don’t come off, usually replacing that about every 7 days.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply! Just two additional questions:

1. So you use the Spike App as opposed to the Dexcom one? Any particular reason?

2. Does the sensor being on you affect you sleep at all? (like if you sleep on your side or stomach?)

Hello,

We use G6 on my son who is 12. I was reading your post and wanted store know what is the Sppike up?? Does it make the sensor last longer?
Thanks!

1. I wear the sensor on my abdomen.
  2. I honestly don’t notice the sensor most of the time. The g6 is super small and not painful.
  3. I’ve never noticed a problem with irritation.
  4. Pro tip–Use SkinTac (you can order on amazon). Seriously a life-saver. I also use patches from A Silly Patch if the adhesive isn’t working.