Pump v. Injections?

I see lots of folks using CGMs and pumps, but who has chosen to stick (sorry!) with manual sugar checks and syringe injections, and why? 6-yr-old daughter, newly diagnosed. Thanks!

I for one continue to monitor blood glucose {BG], at least 7 times each day by sticking my fingers. And I generally use “link meters” [BG meters that determine my sugar levels and transmit via radio frequency to my pump] to try to help me avoid operator error.

It is wonderful having this finger-stick accurate method to readily know blood sugar and unless there is a compelling reason I would NOT recommend CGM or pumping for a newly diagnosed 6 year old. I AM NOT A DOCTOR. My reasoning is that the finger-sticks and injections are less intrusive and will do less in making your daughter stand out as being different from peers; let her be a little girl!

BG meters, even the very crude, were unknown during my first 20+ years with T1D and we had to boil stainless steel “horse needles” for injections and there are many of us in the “50 to 80 year T1D Group” who have lived with, prospered, raised families and are living well.

i hear you Dennis,

I like CGM but the technology is not there yet for me. Calibrations, errors, lag, faaaaaaa. It’s bad enough my meter is +/-20% now I use that to calibrate an even more inaccurate device? Anyway I have had 2 CGM systems and I use the CGM occasionally.