Omnipod users

Hi,

I have a five year old little girl who was diagnosed in september of 2008..  She is still in her honeymoon phase and i was looking into the omnipod for her...  She hates to get her injections with a regular needle and from what i have seen it looks less painful to inject the omnipod into the skin...  She is only using 2 units of nph once a day and i know that the omnipod uses the fast acting insulin...  Any advise would be greatly appricated...

Thanks - Debbie

Debbie,

Hi, my name is Amy, and I've been using the Omnipod for a couple of months now.  It is so much easier than taking shots all the time;  it simplifies things so much more.  Dealing with fine tuning the diabetes related issues is a struggle in itself, and the pumps make life a bit more bearable.  Have you called to meet with a rep from Omnipod(the  Insulet corporation) yet?  If not that would be a good first step.  Also, you can get a sample pod in the mail to see if this is something your daughter could adjust to.  I personally love my Omnipod and this is the first pump I've ever used.  The remote will probably be  of tremendous assistance.  Sometimes you feel the insulin when it enters the body, but it's nothing compared to taking a needle for each and every time a bolus is required.

If you are interested in researching any other pumps besides the Omnipod, I would reccommeenf the Animas One Touch Ping.  It, too has a wonderful remote capability.

Hi Amy,

Thank you for your response..  I will get in contact with the rep for the omnipod and get more infomation..  How long have you had diabetes? 

Regards - Debbie