Newly Diagnosed 7-year old

Hello everyone and Happy New Year to you all. We’re brand new to this condition - my 7-year old was diagnosed on Tuesday 12/29/15 and we just got home from hospital on Friday (living in San Diego). Managing through the first few days has been a challenge to be sure. My kids’ mom and I are split but remain friendly/close/have our priorities (our kids) in the right place.

Anyway, you’ve all been through the first parts of this - happy to hear any advice. Mostly interested in recipes at this point. I’m a decent cook and my kids are kind of ‘foodies’ so going back to super simple recipes is fine for now but is going to get VERY boring fast. So how do I count carbs in Chili or sloppy joes (which has lots of ketchup) for example is some advice I’m really looking for. Having a hard time figuring it out and I sure would prefer to be cooking at home than buying pre-packaged foods. Any cookbook recommendations would be appreciated as well. Most I’ve seen online so far seem to be geared toward adults who have type 2 and want to keep having deserts.

Thanks much for any help in advance,
Steve

First let me say, all of this will get easier to manage! Our 11 year old was diagnosed 2/15. Different doctors say different things but our doctor told us to live and eat normally but to count the carbs and give the amount of insulin necessary to cover those carbs (we were on a pump 6weeks into the diagnosis and this helps a lot). So basically we still live and eat like we did before except for sodas. I am a chef so we eat at home a lot but i too found the cookbooks geared towards type 2. I chose some trusted and award winning food blogs that focused on low carb. Cauliflower, spiraled zucchini, and spaghetti squash will be your best friend (good for potato and noodle and rice substitutes). Again our Doctor told us that as a growing child she would need some carbs for healthy growth. Here is a blog I use frequently ibreatheimhungry.com.