Newly diagnosed 20 year old

Hi everyone, I was diagnosed with T1D this past May. I’m 20 years old and a senior in college. I’m looking for a friend to talk to about being diabetic. My brother was diagnosed when he was 18 months old; so being diabetic is all he remembers. I’m hoping to find someone that I can talk to about this whole process, as I am still in the honeymoon phase (even after 6 months). Being in college I found that this diagnosis has become an insecurity of mine. I feel awkward around my friends sometimes now, even though they are all so supportive, they just don’t understand and it’s hard for me to explain it to them all the time. If anyone has any words of wisdom or advice I’d really appreciate it, even just a friend that I can talk to would me amazing.
Thanks!

Hey, what do you mean by the honeymoon period? I’m new to it all aswell but I’d heard you’re really unlikely to get type 1 if your sibling has it, we’re you told this too?

Hi, the honeymoon phase is when your pancreas is still producing some insulin, but not enough to keep my blood sugar regulated. I was told that it was unlikely for me to be type 1 because my brother is, but I also have hypothyroidism and celiac disease, both autoimmunes that go hand in hand with type 1. So it was a shock that I was diagnosed with type 1, but at the same time it wasn’t because I already have those 2 other autoimmunes. Also, because I already was predisposed to type 1 my doctors ran tests every year for the antibodies and on my A1C levels; because of this we caught it very early on, way before I would’ve gone into DKA.