Newly diagnosed 10 year old

My son was just diagnosed two weeks ago with Type 1.  He is a very active 10 year old.  Any helpful tips would be wonderful!  His doctors are talking with him about the pump..... any good/ bad thoughts on that?

Personally, after only 2 weeks, I think it would be too early for a pump. I think it's important to understand how to treat diabetes using shots and to feel comfortable with it before moving to a pump. Should something happen to a pump and it stops working, you have to temporarily go back to shots until you receive a replacement. I was on shots for 10 years before I went to a pump and now I've been pumping for almost 11 years. He still has a lot to learn and understand about diabetes itself. I would be wary about making too many changes at once.

Out of convenience, I do absolutely love the pump. I don't like having to carry a bunch of supplies around with me, so having the pump in my pocket and my meter in my purse is perfect for me (now if only I could have a meter and a pump integrated together...) :o) I also like the freedom of choosing when I want to eat and what I want to eat. If I'm not very hungry, I don't have to eat an entire meal because I can adjust my insulin appropriately (you can also mimic this with shots too - but I don't like the multiple stabs every day).

Good luck to you and your son, and welcome to Juvenation! This is a community of people who are willing to share their experiences and help you through the rough times. :o) I'm glad you have found us.

Hi dylansmom,