Need a Dexcom G6 but cost too high

Hi everyone,

I am so discouraged today. Had my follow up at Joslin last night and my A1C is up to 8 and my numbers are not controlled.
Again my doctor talked to me about getting the G6 but we have run the numbers 3 times now over the last year and my cost is $100 a month. Even though I work for a living I just don’t have that kind of expendable cash each month!
I tried Dexcom to see if they have a prescription savings but they said no.

Does anyone know of any resources out there that might be able to help? Again keep in mind because I have an income I don’t usually qualify but maybe someone might have some information for me.

Thank you
Jane

@janeo8760 hi Jane, it’s a tough spot when you make too much for help but not enough to afford it outright.

I don’t have a solution to your problem but I can offer that with enough testing and a lower carb diet I was able to do 6.9 to 7.5% and that was before CGM were invented so I know it’s possible.

You can get a medical CGM where you wear it for X days and it’s download at your Endo’s office. That one gets covered the same way a blood test gets covered.

For some people, the CGM is fabulous, but not for everyone. You could always wear it for limited timeframes and reduce your monthly to half or 1/3 if you skip months or wear for 1 of 3 months.

Not the answers you were looking for-I know and I’m sorry for that.

Good luck

Hi Jane @janeo8760 , a CGM, like a pump, is not the ultimate solution to excellent diabetes management. The major benefit of a CGM is being able to see how your BGL [Body Glucose Level] travels through out the day, how quickly your insulin acts and how certain foods affect you.