My pens don't seem to eject all of the insulin

I’ve recently come back from a holiday- it was the first holiday I’ve had since I was diagnosed (7 months ago) and we went somewhere we wouldn’t usually go and on a plane so everything was a bit haywire.

Anyway my blood has been high for the whole three weeks and with just getting back I’m doing my best to try to regulate it but I’ve recently discovered that even though I hold down my novorapid pen for over 10 seconds it seems that not all of the insulin ever comes out.

Is it normal for some residue to be left? or is it the pen? Because it’s worrying me a bit that I’m not getting my proper dosage…

I don’t have any experience with the novorapid pens, but I’ve been using the refillable Novolog Junior pen for a little over two years now. About six months ago, a similar thing happened to me, my sugars were high for two weeks straight and nothing I seemed to do could get them to go down( I changed vials of insulin, changed out my Lantus, ect.). My mom brought out the backup pen to make sure nothing was wrong with the current one (which I had been using for about a year) and I used that for the next few days, keeping the same ratio and correction scale. My sugars came back into range and stayed there. We figured that the pen had somehow gone out of calibration and wasn’t injecting the right amount of insulin, if any at all. My endocrinologist agreed that that was the most plausible scenario. I don’t know if your pen is refillable or has this problem but it could be a possibility.

Currently, I’m using the Novolog Flexpen because the pharmacy screwed up my prescription. I have also noticed that the disposible pens tend to have a little pearl of insulin at the tip of the needle when I remove it. ( I have also been counting up to 15 to make sure everything gets injected)