My name is Nicole and I'm 9 years old

do you think it is fun to have diabetes?  im new to this .what kinds of snack do you eat?

Hey, Nicole.

I've already posted on your dad's threads a lot, so I'm sorry to be the first on yours again :D

Any who, my name is Alyssa. I was only two years older than you when you were diagnosed, I was eleven. But I hear you are quite the trooper, so nice job, Nicole.

Most definately I think it can be fun. Its almost like a game. Maybe you can hit your dad up for a bet and see if he'll pay you a quarter every time your blood sugar's in range or something :)  It isn't as complicated as it seems, and it will only get easier with every passing second. And I bet you can make it fun, too. I named my insulin pump Rex; you should name your blood sugar meter :)

For "free carb" snacks I eat cheese, nuts (watch carbs on these so you don't have too many), meats, most lunch meats, eggs (boiled is great), and pickles. Most veggies, as well. Hope this helps and its cool that you posted this :D

dear,alyssa

thanks for all your great advice.i think you,ll be fun to right for advice .im going to try that quarter thing with my dad :)    my blood sugar is 188 so im proud.please right back.

(Alyssa, this is Dad.  Thanks for making my little girl giggle, just, uhhh, next time lets ease up on the money shakedowns off Dad in the future K?  I'm already out $1.25)                                                                                                                                         

Dear Nicole,

No problem. As I'm about to tell your dad, its a diabetic-bond I've got to work your dad for the money :) (PS: on Halloween, when I was diagnosed my dad paid me a nickle for every piece of candy I got... I don't think I'm getting on your dad's good side).

I think you're fun, too, Nicole and I look forward to your messages! Nice job on the blood sugar, that's incredible.