Metformin and T1s

I am just turning 70 YO and was diagnosed as T1 in 2013. I have been using an insulin pump since 2015 and injections before that. The most distressing feature for me of being insulin dependent is the relentless weight gain over the years, despite careful eating (being T1 diabetic means being on a perpetual low-carb diet1) and exercise. I have gained nearly 40 pounds and an now borderline obese. My endo claims that T1s should not use Metformin. I have done research on metformin use by T1s and have found medical journal articles that say that Metformin can be used by T1s and is useful in controlling weight. Does anyone have an endo that prescribes Metformin for them?

1 Like

Hi @hallomar . I don’t have any wisdom to share on Netformin but was wondering - if you dint mind sharing - what you do to try to keep your weight down?
As you knew each of us has to do what works for us - on the forum I’ve an posts from members who follow a low carb lifestyle, while others (myself included) do not.
One thing I’ve found - which may or may not apply to you - it’s that weight gain often means I need to check my basal rates and/or carb ratios, add I find myself being to snack between meals. Although I use CIQ, I may get to 80 or 70 with a predicted drop, and I don’t feel I’m functioning at my best even though it’s supposed to correct, so I snack. So for me some changes may be in order when that happens too often.
Have you worked with a nutritionist for guidance on losing weight? Sometimes that helps as well.