Maybe this is a stupid question, but

Even though my blood sugar is MUCH better than it was and my A1C is going to be a whole lot lower when I get it taken in January, I still have usually 1 short time when I am in the 200's each day.  Is this short spike bad for your unborn child?  I'm not pregnant yet but want to get started after my A1C is ok in January. 

Any answers, suggestions, stories are much appreciated!  :)  Maybe I am just freaking out, but I want to be sure!!!!

HI Nikki,

I am not a doctor so I am not sure whether or not that short spike is bad. I am also trying to conceive and my last A1C was 5.0 (yay!) but now that I am off of the pill, I have realized that probably every other day I will experience BG that is 200 due to my inability to predict my hormone levels. While I was on the pill, I realized that estrogen causes me to become insulin resistant so as much as we both try to obtain the most perfect blood sugar, we will never be able to control our hormones, therefore, I have come to realize that I shouldn't stress over these numbers too much as long as I keep them under control as best as I can. I hope this helps and good luck with your A1C.

i am really curious how you guys got to 5.0 a1c?

My A1C  was 5.3 or somthing close to it last time (1 month ago) but they say that when you are pregnant your A1C can go down by 1.0 points.  So this would make sense for me because i'm normally in the low 6's.     If you are not pregnant and have a 5 A1C i would think you might be going low a bit to often because from what i've heard type 1's are very rarly in the 5 range unless they are haveing sugar lows often (maybe at night and they arent realizing it). 

Wow!  Those are great a1c's!  I'm jealous. ;)  My goal is around 6.5% when I go January 19th.