Life with a cure?

So I am pretty new to this juvination site, and love in it I might add. So I was reading some of the older forums. One that caught my eye was " how has diabetes improved your life?" Lots of good stuff in there. I was wondering when the cure comes along, What will you do as your first "D" free day? Has anyone thought about it? For us, if E is still small it will for sure be a sleepover at a friends house. Then some cake and ice cream to celebrate, and maybe a snickers bar, too. :) Maybe we will celebrate first.  So tell me what do you think you will do or do for your child?

I see this one has been posted (kind of). Sorry! I did enjoy the answers in the other post. If anyone missed it or has new thing to add feel free.

I'd join the air force.  Not because I have always wanted to, but just because they tell me that I can't now.  I agree with their recommendation (sort of), but I'd feel great walking in there with a nametag that says "Hi my name is Matt, I am a post-diabetic".

"I will now fly the jets, thank you."

this probably sounds weird but i would have cake or cookies. i think it was be cool to eat something extremely sugary and not have to give insulin. hahahaha i would love it(:

Here's what I would do: a bloodtest. Then I'd cry probably, because I've been working so hard to recalim my diabetic identity. I might not know what to do with myself once there finally is a cure, because Diabetes in the present time gives me the motivation I'd always thought I lacked. In that way, I suppose its a crutch because what would motivate me if not for my diabetes? I have never had to ask that question... While pondering the answer, though, I would spend my time as a photographer living off the land as best I could in Tanzania, Kenya... somewhere exotic... and preferably without electricity or cell phone service.