It's an interesting ride :)

I am new to Type 1 Diabetes.  My son, Logan, was diagnosed on Thanksgiving day, after my husband and I watched him drink and drink and drink all day.  We had known something was wrong, and watched him get thinner.  He had less energy, and was even concerned himself about his fatigue.  We ended up getting him diagnosed before he was in DKA, thank goodness.  He is doing well, and still on injections while we decide about pumps.  I'm thrilled to find an outlet, and I appreciate each of you for your experience and insight.  You are amazing parents. 

My son was just diagnosed last month. This is a really good place to meet and get to know others who are going through exactly what you're going through too.

Hi Julebug and Karen,

My son was diagnosed about 8 months ago. This is a good place to meet people and a good outlet, sadly though sometimes there isn't much activity on here.

It gets easier.

My son was diagnosed just oer a year ago. Still trying to breath, I keep waiting for it to get easier. Wish there was more activity on here though.

Hi everyone!  June 1st will be my son's 3 year anniversary and he just turned 4.  I have to wonder sometimes which is better?  Being diagnosed at such any early age or older?   For Zackery,  this is all he knows.  4 shots a day in his legs.  *We used his tummy for maybe 6 months before dr told us to stop which I agreed,  he was getting those little fat pockets they tell you about. *  And if you want more activity,  I can help.   Stay at home mom of 3 kids and there are moments I get bored when they are doing their activities.  Oh and I'm starting home schooling.  Kinda fun since I wanted to be a teacher anyway,  just didn't think it would be for my own kids.   Lol. This whole diabetes thing is still a learning process for us as well.  Don't be afraid to jump on here anytime.  Oh and encourage the significant others too.