Insurance Woes

I’m new to this page, but not new to the world of Type 1. My son was diagnosed at the age of 7 and is now 14. We’ve just gotten a letter from our insurance company telling us that his new Omnipod is considered “not medically necessary”, so they won’t cover it. We now have to appeal. This is the latest in the many changes and rejections we’ve received in trying to get him the equipment and care he deserves. Any of you out there struggled with similar frustrations? I’m so tired of having to fight with our insurance company to get the things he needs to survive!

1 Like

Lori, I can relate to your woes. It is a shame when “bean-counters” without medical knowledge or background make life-saving, quality of life decisions instead of our medical care teams.

How is your son doing? Not just with his T1D but with life, school, activities and social? At age 14 an insulin pump should be a major step that will permit him to lead a full, productive life, giving him freedom for meal-timing changes to fit in with schooling, sports and just being a teen. Those are a few bits you could add into your appeal.

The first step is to engage his medical care team behind you, especially an endocrinologist who really knows TyoeOne [not all really do]. Have the endo write the appeal stating why, in her/his judgement that a pump IS NECESSARY; also engage an instructor / medical advisor from the Omnipod company to assist with additional data.

In retrospect, if I had the positive benefits of a pump 60 years ago I may not have developed some of my diabetes-related complications. Good Luck to you!

2 Likes

hi @loritroll Lori,

it is the job of any insurance company to push back. first they pushed back on pumps, then lispro (fast acting human insulin) then CGM and I am sure it isn’t going to end, ever.