Inaccurately Low

Hello all,

So I’ve been wearing the Medtronic Enlite CGM for six months now. Recently it has been terribly inaccurate and most recently it has frequently said I am LOW when I am not low. This is frustrating for me because I already deal with anxiety and having it consistently tell me I’m at 60 or 70 when I’m at 120 is frustrating and anxiety provoking! It causes me to meter test a lot more than I’d like and I’m unsure why this is occurring.

I’ve consulted with Metronic and learned 1) to calibrate ideally four times a day when my BG is not in flux…so at least a hour after pumping insulin and to not eat until the sensor is ‘calibrated.’ I certainly don’t want to waste an expensive sensor however if its going to be causing me more worry with its inaccuracy than I might as well not wear it.

Any tips or suggestions?

Chris

Hi Chris,

I wish I had some encouraging words for you but we experienced the same issues you described when my daughter wore the Enlite. Medtronic tried very hard to help us but we just couldn’t get the sensor to work for my daughter. I know there are many people who love the Enlite and have had success with it, but we gave up and went to Dexcom. We’ve been using it for over a year and the accuracy is stunning. Our insurance allowed us to switch after 6 months on the Enlite. I know that’s probably not the answer you were looking for and I’m sure some will disagree with me, but I just wanted to give you an honest perspective and share our experience. All the best.

I’ve seen questions like this before, but it is hard to know how to respond to them. It’s more that I have too many suggestions to toss out there than having nothing to suggest. The problem is that I have no way of knowing, without more information, what, if any, of my suggestions might be of any use to anyone.