Hypoglycemic Blackouts

I’ve been Type 1 since I was 14 months old, am now 40. I’ve had several low blood sugar episodes that I totally blacked out. Can’t remember anything about them. These seem to be increasing in frequency. Had a few of these blackouts as a child, a few in high school but in the last few years they’ve almost become common place.

I’m looking for anyone else who has experienced this as well as medical documentation about it. I’ve become very aggressive during these blackouts and need to know what is causing it and how to prevent them from happening. I no longer get much warning if any that my blood sugar is dropping.

Any help or information is greatly appreciated!

Hi Dani @dani1977 and welcome to TypeOneNation and welcome to “the club” of losing hypo awareness as your years with diabetes and insulin use take on long duration - I’ve been living with my diabetes for 60 years.

I’m NOT a medical doctor but I can offer you some insights for your diabetes management based on my experience and from what I’ve learned over the years. Like you, I’ve blacked out a couple of times where I needed assistance from EMS to wake up - but not until the last 5 years.

You haven’t said how you manage your diabetes, but I gather from what you have written here and on your other posts, I’m assuming that you are using a lon-acting background insulin supplemented with fast or rapid acting insulin for meals and corrections and that you monitor your glucose levels by using a meter; do I have that correct? One observation I’ve made that unlike with the older forms of insulin [from pigs and cows] the awareness of a dropping blood sugar is less apparent with the lispro and aspart insulin formulations [Humalog and Novolog].