How to get my A1C down

Hello all,

I have had diabetes for the past 3 1/2 years and recently my A1c has gone up significantly.  For the first year after my diagnosis, my doctors thought I was a type 2 and treated me accordingly.  I got my A1c down to 6.4%....then they realized I am a type 1 diabetic and I am just learning to use insulin.  My most recent A1c is so much higher now, I am embarrassed to say (it almost doubled!!!!)  My husband and I want to have a baby and I need to get it down asap.  We have met with high risk doctor and I am very educated about what is necessary to prepare for a baby.  Mainly to have my A1c down around 5.5%ish for 3 months before we can start trying.

My question to all of you is....what is the fastest/most efficient way to drop my A1c???  

Thanks!!!

Jackie

OMG, I would love to know the answer to that as well. My daughter's A1C continuously goes up and down from one visit to the next. As soon as we think we have things under control it takes a turn. We continuously count carbs and she has switched meds at least 3 times within the past year. She's very active in sports (football, basketball and track) so I am still trying to figure out what's going on. Sorry I don't have the answer your looking for but it helps to know that you are not the only one who is having that problem.