Highs from carb and protein-filled foods?

I have been struggling with high blood sugars resulting from eating carb AND protein-filled foods, such as pizza, cheese and chicken quesadillas, pasta with cheese, etc.  My highs are typically around 300.  As an example, if I eat a small quesadilla with chicken and cheese inside, I bolus for 30 grams of carbohydrate.  An hour later, I still experience a high and it's become really frustrating lately, as I'm a college student and foods like these are kind of hard to avoid, although I try to avoid them most of the time and try to eat simpler carb choices and smaller amounts of protein, as to avoid going high later.  

I have a calorie-king carb counting book, but I think I may need to try dual-wave or square-wave boluses for these meals.  

Has anyone had any success with these methods of pumping?..especially for foods like these?

--Hayley

yes! i've started experimenting with combo boluses (the animas name for dual/square wave). i use it especially with pizza and pasta because and then i'll play around with it for other foods. i've noticed foods that are higher in protein and fat + carbs just do whacky things with my BGs, but i've done much better at controlling the extreme highs once i started using combo bolus.

good luck!

[quote user="C"]

yes! i've started experimenting with combo boluses (the animas name for dual/square wave). i use it especially with pizza and pasta because and then i'll play around with it for other foods. i've noticed foods that are higher in protein and fat + carbs just do whacky things with my BGs, but i've done much better at controlling the extreme highs once i started using combo bolus.

good luck!

[/quote]